Boston

Tuesday night in Boston went down fairly well in my opinion.  Although the first time I played The Paradise I was skeptical about the sound of the room due to it being so shallow, having seen a few shows there recently I know that it’s a solid room.   The only show I saw there before moving to Boston was a hardcore matinee in 1990(?) featuring The Cro-Mags (w/ Harley but not John Joseph), Burn, and Wrecking Crew but I was too scared that day to notice the PA.  Back to Tuesday, the crowd was decent, the show was well received and we all had a good time being on stage.  We did a little hanging post-show with friends, family, and label moguls from Rounder and then it was off to bed.

Yesterday, Wednesday, we drove most of the way to Detroit stopping only to pick up James’ repaired Firebird and to eat at the Cracker Barrel.  Even though when I toured with Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit for a month we, no joke, ate at the Cracker Barrel almost every freakin’ day, I rarely stray from the breakfast menu.  In fact, I almost always order The Old Timers Breakfast.  Last night, I took a chance and ordered the roasted half-chicken from their seasonal Autumn Apple Harvest Menu.  Topped with apple gravy and accompanied by cornbread stuffing, green beans, and a ripe Gala apple, I’m happy to report that the chicken was tender, juicy, and completely satisfying.  Highly recommended.  And, I don’t really care for chicken.

Of course, I don’t have any photos of us in Boston so here’s one from when I played the Paradise with Jason Isbell.  Derry and Morgan in a heated mustache growing contest

IMG_0099

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Boston

  1. drummichael

    Son Volt brought the heat to Boston! The place was on fire I swear not even a bed bug could survive. Many songs from the great new record, and even some Gob Iron classics thrown in to make my wife smile. “Newbie” James W rocked on lap steel and electric.Opener Sera Cahoone sounded great as well. I bought her latest “Only As The Day Is Long” from her in the lobby at The Pardadise, and love it! I recommend you catch this great double bill at one of the last couple shows left on the tour. Have a great show tonight in Motown.

  2. nomoreparades

    Am I the only one who would like to see pictures of Jay and the band at the Cracker Barrel? The thing that hooked me to this blog was the pictures from the whale-watching excursion in Alaska.

    • David Bryson

      Yeah, I know. I’ve been lazy with the camera and felt the guys were getting sick of me. I’ll get back to it soon enough. I guess you haven’t enjoyed my prose excursion.

      • nomoreparades

        Pictures of the band waiting for a shuttle bus on the side of the road and Jay in a fleece hat looking for whales hooked me, and the prose has kept me comin’ back!

        Feel free to take my picture on Saturday. I’ll be the one screaming “No More Parades!! No More Parades!!”

  3. dnelson49

    Hey, Dave.

    First off I just want to let you know that I’ve really enjoyed the blog for the past couple months, and check it several times a week.

    I went to the North Hampton and Boston shows, and while both rocked, the Boston show was just unbelievable good. The the sound was probably the best I’ve heard at any of the SV shows I’ve been to. Here’s a few shots I grabbed at the show, in case your interested.



    By the way, I loved your drum solo before the encore at the North Hampton show. More importantly though, your drumming was spot on at both shows. Keep on rockin’.

  4. cbjackson

    Mama’s Pancake Breakfast! (The Old Timer’s is pretty good too, though)

  5. 3horses

    Thanks for sharing those photos. I look forward to this blog and check it as often as I can.

  6. roberttherosehorse

    The ‘staches look good – Derry and Morgan just need an ironic tuxedo shirt to go with them. I’ve heard Isbell carries them in the tour trailer, be sure to ask for them next time you see him.

  7. cbjackson

    Tonight! The Vic! Can’t wait!!!

  8. arcticmonkeys

    We were at the Boston show and it was fantastic! New songs sounded even better live than on the record. I was sort of expecting “Are You Sure” at the end but was pleasantly suprised to hear “Lookin’ at the World” in the encore. And James ROCKS. Seriously – hold onto that guy.

    Can’t wait for the next time you guys come around.

  9. tinpony

    Shhh…I’ve about had it with The Cracker Barrel.

  10. Hi Guys! We were at your most AWESOME show in Detroit! I was surprized that it wasn’t a bigger venue, though I am not complaining. It was a great experience to see you guys up close. I really hate huge venues. Your performances were spot on and your vocals were perfect! Thanks for stopping in Detroit.

    We are also the ones who gave you the Pointless Picks®. http://www.pointlesspicks.com. We hope you give them a try and let us know what you think. We won a “Best in Show” small goods in Nashville last summer NAMM!

    We are huge fans, fellow musicians & artists and just thinking outside the triangle to make a living! 🙂

    Again, thanks for the amazing concert

    Cheers!
    Beverly Larsen

  11. jeffnh

    I considered a road trip to Northampton or even VT, but am glad I went to the Boston show. The sound there is great and I got a good spot right in front of James. Great show, great band and great new album.

    Here are my pix: http://www.tabblo.com/studio/stories/view/1763925/

Leave a Reply

