Off to Newport, KY

CSN sang, “You, who are on the road, must have a code that you can live by” and I’m working on a few rules of my own.  That would be: no pizza, bagels, or ice cream off the East Coast.  I know, I know, you probably live near some great pizza parlor in Scottsdale that imports the water from New York City but more often that not I’m disappointed.  More accurately, I usually annoy myself by saying something to the effect of, “Well, I live close to New Haven, New York and New Jersey where the pizza is just consistently better.  It’s just different.”  Kinda like people from California going on about how west coast sushi is just better.  That really gets my goat considering that the fish they’re eating was probably flown in just like it was in Nashville.  The ice cream rule stems from the fact that I live in Boston which has no shortage of delicious local ice cream with Toscanini’s being my favorite and Christina’s a close second for the mexican chocolate alone.  Ice cream and oysters, that’s 2 good things about Boston.   Anyway, I haven’t been home in 6 weeks and it’s summertime so I’m eating ice cream at Graeter’s tonight, alright?  Last time I played at Southgate House was with Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit during a tour that travelled under a black cloud of sleet, snow and rain.  Not exactly ice cream weather.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Off to Newport, KY

  1. barstowca

    The show at Southgate House was GREAT!!! Good energy.
    Good follow up at The Vogue.
    Do you like pizza in Chicago?

  2. arambler8

    I thoroughly enjoyed the show at the Vogue in Indy. Just too short.

    Looking forward to see you guys in DC, Philly, NYC, and especially Minneapolis (my home base).

    Thanks!

  3. barstowca

    Piece is a good choice- thin, crispy…
    See you at the Vic …

Leave a Reply

