Tour wrap-up

I’ve been delinquent in updating for the past week.  A combination of very long drives and crappy internet connections are to blame and somehow I have less time now that I’m at home with the family.  Here’s some highlights:

Spokane

We played at the beautiful, newly renovated Fox theater in downtown Spokane.  The last time we played Spokane was at the taste of Spokane which is officially called, “Pig Out in the Park.”  With a name like that it’s no wonder that we had deep-fried Oreo’s that night.  Besides some one-offs and promo gigs, that was the first official show of the Okemah tour.  It feels like we’ve been several different bands since then.  So back to the present, instead of going to our very nearby hotel to relax before the gig at the newly renovated Fox Theater, we all opted to hang out at the club.  Mark, Andrew and I were embroiled in a vicious game of Scrabble through Facebook as the others drank coffee, slept, roamed the streets, etc.  Well, we really should have checked out that Ramada Inn.  Later that night, I watched from the parking lot as Jay, Mark and Chris walked into their rooms and immediately walked back out.  Jason and I quickly assessed the situation and decided the rooms smelled like old, dirty strippers. While dismantling the Febreeze wall unit in his room, Jay was enveloped by the scent of cheap strawberries that he’s probably still trying to shake.  So, we hopped in the van and headed down the road to Ritzville, Washington and the Empire Motel where the train runs by every hour.  Although there is nothing ritzy about Ritzville and I’m not sure what sort of motel allows the desk attendant to enter your room without knocking to retrieve the Ziploc bag of ice from your freezer so your bandmate’s beers don’t get warm while you sit in your underwear on the bed, we all slept fairly well and were a little closer to Boise.

Boise

A couple of years ago we played at the Wood River Winery which actually lies a few miles outside of Boise.  I couldn’t remember much about that show but I do know that they didn’t have Boche!

IMG_0494

As it turns out, Jay and Mark rule the court.  Other highlights included:

-A wedding rehearsal during soundcheck.  That’s something you’ll never see at Rhythm and Brews in Chattanooga.

-An eclectic dinner featuring Thai basil beef, chicken with apricots and olives, tofu and vegetables and raspberry chocolate cake.

-A mostly seated crowd save for a bunch of dancing women that somehow reminded me of MILF Island.  Also, let me say this, if your going to bring your children down in front of the stage to have a good look at the crusty men please make sure they have ear protection.  When allowed to play without noise restrictions we can be a loud band.

Thanks to all the people who came down in front gave us a little something back.  We had a fun night

Missoula

We awoke early on Saturday and set out on the 8+ hour drive down an endlessly winding highway hugging what might have been the Lower Salmon River or the Snake River or something else entirely.  Whatever the case may be, it was beautiful.

IMG_0501

After about six hours I wished we were headed down some boring, straight, interstate looking out on dead, brown grass.  Indiana in December comes to mind.

We arrived just in time for soundcheck at the University of Montana only to have doors pushed back to deal with some major technical issues.  Despite the exhaustion, sound issues, and a burning desire to be home, I was determined to have a fun last show.  In my mind that involves playing too much and too loud which is exactly what I did.  I threw in some heavy metal fills, worked up a sweat and that was that.  We said goodbye to the Cowboy Junkies, went to the bar, met some very nice people who were at the show and called it a day.

It took me five days to complete this post but I’ll try to get some photos and videos up here and hopefully some news updates.  More tour dates for the fall are being firmed up at the moment and I’ll post them as soon as I get the word.  Alright, see you later……

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Tour wrap-up

  1. sonvolt2

    Thanks for the post tour update Dave. Pretty cool to be able to follow you guys like this, now go get some rest! Can’t wait to see you all at 9:30 Club again. Got to meet Scott there last year; nice chat. Take it easy….Mike

    • David Bryson

      As a long time former resident of DC, I can’t wait to play the 9:30. Probably my favorite club of that sort in the country. See you there…

  2. antelope850

    Hey Dave – was there any/much hanging out with the Cowboy Junkies? Did you play a song together at the last show? They had some nice things to say about you guys on their blog.

    • David Bryson

      We had the pleasure of having a few pre-show meals and glasses of wine (they’re big fans) with the Junkies. They’re all super sweet and put on a consistently great show. Unfortunately, no all-star jams went down.

  3. Robin

    Dave, thanks so much for posting…I enjoy following along as I don’t get to see you play until late Sept. in Northampton and can’t wait.

    take care, Robin

    PS…also good to hear cool guys like you enjoy scrabble on facebook, one of my guilty pleasures

  4. mightyflynn

    I preordered the new LP on 6/27. It’s now 8/3 and I still haven’t received it (even though its been in retail stores for 2+ weeks). Does the band know that Fast Atmosphere and Rounder have done this to its fans? It’s been a very disappointing month of writing emails to ask for updates. Not once has FA or Rounder contacted me to notify me of the situation/delays.

    It’s sad that Jay and SV, who were at the forefront of digital downloads (Live in Seattle) are now relying on distribution from a company that refuses to make them available, and won’t package CDs/DLs w/ LP purchase. If they had, I would’ve at least gotten a chance to hear the music while waiting for the LP. When they sent shipments to retail outlets 2 wks ago, the very least they could’ve done was ship CDs to those of us who preordered the LP. Instead they’ve made me decide whether I’d buy the same album twice or just wait for Rounder to get its act together. I chose to wait, on principle.

    Now I’ve read a review that claim the LP is subpar in sound quality and comes in flimsy, static-friendly paper. Great.

    This whole thing is a drag, and from what I know of the band as music fans, I suspect they’d be bummed about it too. When the LP finally arrives, it’s sadly just going to remind me of the frustration of the past five weeks.

    • David Bryson

      Hey Mighty Flynn,
      Sorry to hear about your troubles and disappointment concerning the vinyl release of American Central Dust. That’s a bummer. Let me first say thanks for reading the blog and being a fan of the band. I assume that your writing to me because I reply to comments now and again. Although you’ve had no luck getting a response from Fast Atmosphere, Rounder, Steel Toe Management, Transmit Sound, etc, I’m sorry to say that I cannot help you either. I know absolutely nothing about the vinyl release other than I saw Jay signing 150 copies backstage in Spokane so I suppose your comment to my tour wrap-up post is not completely off topic. If I get a chance, I’ll mention it to the powers that be but in the future please don’t come to me with these complaints. I’m just a blogging drummer. Take care. -Dave

      • mightyflynn

        Thanks for the reply, Dave. I wasn’t asking for your help and didn’t mean to misuse this space. It won’t happen again.

  5. sonvolt2

    I knew you had roots here w/ Canyon and all, so I figured it must have some kind of special place in your heart. Look forward to the show…Mike

  6. debschmitt

    Hey Dave, thanks for taking the time to keep us fans updated. Just bought tickets to the Chicago show.

    See you in September!
    Deb

Leave a Reply

